ER 18/19 - 06

Sponsored by: Jon Mark Horton, President

Drew Roberson, Vice President

Erika Tuck, Chief of Staff

Mary Conroy, Public Relations Director

Rashad Kirksey, Cultural Diversity Director

Madison Cox, Secretary

Stacey Mott, Parliamentarian

Presented by: Drew Roberson, Vice President

Date: January 22nd, 2019

SGA Committee to attend Jonesboro City Council Meetings

Short Title: A resolution that will create a committee to establish and maintain the relationship between the student body at Arkansas State University and the city of Jonesboro through a voluntary committee.

Whereas, The constitutional object of the Student Government Association (SGA) at Arkansas State University is to consider *all matters that may concern the general interest of the student body*; and

Whereas, Jonesboro City Council Meetings hold discussion on issues that directly effect the experience of students in Jonesboro; and

Whereas, Representation from the student body is necessary in order for the views of students to be considered in these meetings; and

Whereas, It would be beneficial to the city, the university, and the students to create a committee to offer a specific channel of communication to make the city of Jonesboro aware of the perspectives of students while decisions are made regarding the city of Jonesboro.

BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED BY THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION OF ARKANSAS STATE UNIVERSITY THAT:

The Arkansas State University Student Government Association establish a committee to attend Jonesboro City Council meetings.

- 1. A City Council Coalition be established to build relationships between the Student Government Association and the City of Jonesboro through attending City Council meetings.
- 2. The Coalition shall ensure Arkansas State University students are represented at each city council meeting through attendance of these meetings, which are the first and third Tuesday of each month at 5:30 PM at the Jonesboro Municipal Center.
- 3. The Chair of the Committee shall be elected by open nomination in general session with a simple majority. The Chair of the Committee shall select the additional committee members with approval by the President.
- 4. The committee shall consist of at least three persons.
- 5. The committee shall report back to the SGA on a consistent basis.

Pass Fail	
	
Drew Roberson, Vice President	Jon Mark Horton, President